Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

What is Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

Pay Your Tax Honestly

Know the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)


The Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC), formerly known as the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC), is a one of the Boards constituted under the statute the Central Boards of Revenue Act, 1963 (54 of 1963) and is subordinate to the Department of Revenue under the Ministry of Finance, Government of India. It deals mainly with the tasks of formulation and implementation of policy concerning to the levy and collection of Customs duties, Central Excise duties and Goods & Services tax, prevention of smuggling and administration of matters relating to Customs, Central Excise, Central Goods and Service Tax (CGST) and Narcotics to the extent under CBIC's purview. The Board is the administrative authority for its subordinate organizations, including Custom Houses, Central Goods and Services Commissionerates and the Central Revenues Control Laboratory.

The CBIC is headed by a Chairman and has 6 members in addition to the Chairman. In the performance of its administrative and executive functions, the CBIC is assisted by Principal Chief Commissioners/Chief Commissioners and Principal Director Generals/Director Generals. The Principal Commissioners/ Commissioners working under the Principal Chief Commissioner/ Chief Commissioner’s supervision also discharge executive functions.

Organisational Chart of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

Organisational Chart

Chairman & Members of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

CBIC Chairman & Members

Shri Vivek Johri, B.A. (Hons), M.B.A. Chairman 01.12.2021 - 31.07.2023 Photo of Vivek Johri, Member, CBIC
Shri Vivek Johri, B.A. (Hons), M.B.A. Member 01.08.2020 - 31.07.2023
Smt Sangita Sharma, M.Phil. Member 01.08.2020 - 31.01.2023 Photo of Sangita Sharma, Member, CBIC
Shri Sandeep Kumar, B.A. Member 16.02.2021 - 31.10.2022 Photo of Sandeep Kumar, Member, CBIC
Shri D. P. Nagendra Kumar, M.B.A., L.L.B. Member 06-09-2021 - 31-07-2022 Photo of Nagendra Kumar, Member, CBIC
Shri Balesh Kumar, B.A. Member 06-09-2021 - 31-08-2022 Photo of Balesh Kumar, Member, CBIC
Shri Rajiv Talwar, M.A. Member 06-09-2021 - 30-11-2024 Photo of Rajiv Talwar, Member, CBIC
Shri Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, B.E., P.G.D. Member 02-03-2022 - 30-11-2025 Photo of Sanjay Kumar Agarwal, Member, CBIC

First Chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

Shri B.N. Banerji was the first Chairman of the Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC), now the Central Board of Indiret Taxes and Customs (CBIC) - 1964-67. Shri Banerji was the Chairman of the then Board of Revenue which covered both direct and indirect taxes. When the combined Board was later replaced by two Boards, the CBDT and the CBEC (now CBIC), he continued to be the first Chairman of the CBEC (now CBIC). Shri Banerji was from the Imperial Customs Service of the British era and was credited with encyclopaedic knowledge, going way beyond the revenue matters. Report of the U.S. Delegation to the Eighteenth Session of the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, Washington, June 28, 1963 shows that Shri B.N. Banerji was Indian Representative to the 18th Session of the United Nations Commission on Narcotic Drugs. The United Kingdom representative nominated Shri B.N. Banerji as Second Vice-Chairman. His nomination was supported by the representatives of the United States and many other countries (Ref: http://history.state.gov/historical-documents/frus1961-63v25/d345 ).

B.N. Banerji Memorial Lecture - By Shri Parthasarathi Shome

Present Chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

Photo of Vivek Johri, Member, CBIC

Vivek Johri, IRS (C&IT:1985), a 1985-batch Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Indirect Taxes) officer, has been a member of the board. He has succeeded M Ajit Kumar, who completed his tenure on November 30.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet had last month approved the appointment of Johri as the Chairman of the CBIC, which is the apex body related to customs and other indirect taxes.

The decision is made by the appointments committee of the cabinet. Johri, a senior civil servant, is currently a member of the CBIC, handling GST and tax policy.

The CBIC chairman has the challenge to boost Goods and Services Tax (GST) revenues, which have refused to show any significant jump.

Previous Chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC)

Photo of M. Ajitkumar, Chairman, CBIC

M Ajit Kumar, a 1984 batch IRS officer hailing from Kozhikode, kerala has been appointed as Chairman of the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC). He was earlier a Member (Administration and Vigilance) in the CBIC.

In his 36-year career, he has worked in many capacities in the department including Directorate of Vigilance in New Delhi; Directorate of Revenue Intelligence in Mumbai; Commissioner of Customs in Mumbai; Principal Chief Commissioner of GST Zone for Tamil Nadu and Puducherry and Principal Chief Commissioner of Customs zones in Chennai.

Ajit Kumar is a recipient of the World Customs Organisation certificate of merit for the year 2019, says a release from Chennai Customs.

Some of the Chairmen/ Members retired in the recent past.